Ok im sure this question has been asked before here. But what is the best 2 to 3 group espresso machine out there, keeping cost in mind. I going to open my own coffee shop here soon and i need some expert opinions on which are the overall best. THANKS!!!!

Views: 25238

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I am still a rookie, but I can tell you this....brace yourself. LOL

Still, the La Marzocco Linea is the workhorse of the industry. The LM GB/5 is a big hit. Personally, the FB/80 I used at Counter Culture's Training Center is by far my favorite. Just love it.

What am I going to put in my shop? Since I am also having to consider cost, probably a Nuova Simonelli Aurelia, 2 group, without the smart wand.

Chris Deferio has one in his new shop in Muncie, IN. Vecinos is the name. Love that shop. Hope to visit it someday.
I think the Rancillio Class 8 represents a great value. It is a durable well built machine and there are good deals to be had. Just a good all around workhorse of a machine. If your shop will sell a lot of skinny vanilla lattes and not many straight espresso shots the Class 8 is a good choice.

Going up a bit in price the Simonelli Aurelia is a great machine. Again a very reliable machine and Simonelli has a good repair and service network. The Aurelia has an uncanny ability to level the playing field between baristas and I find it to be an easier machine to train people on. We use the Aurelia in our cafe.

The La Marzocco is available at about what you will pay for a Simonelli, I think it takes a bit more craft to operate but for a skilled barista but in skilled hands the results can be exceptional. Cynesso is also in this league also really any of the WBC qualifying machines are excellent choices though not really budget conscious.
This is topic is bound to bring down the BX server with the volume of replies and opinion. I reckon let your fingers do the walking through the website and see what you come up with :)