Hi, I'm very new to the espresso culture but would like to hear if anyone knows anything about a "Rex Royal Super Automatic" from Switzerland. I understand the hesitation regarding super automatics (or think I do) but if the machine is able to produce a consistently good shot, does the hesitation come from the lack of the "art" for lack of a better word? I'm just trying to get some honest feedback on super auto's and specifically the Rex Royal if anyone has seen one or used one.

Thanks!

Views: 30

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Not "the show" as much as the craft, the art, the expression, the soul. Basically, everything that this community is about, as I understand it.
My experience with Super auto's is they do produce "consistency". That consistency is the same quantity of coffee and quality of coffee in the cup. However IMHO the quality of the shot needs to be qualified. It is no where near what you would get if you grind, tamp and pull the shot yourself. Here the Supers are the machines of choice for many cafe opperators- where easy of use, control of usage etc is the primary driver over qualty in the cup.
Changed "the show" to "art"...see how new I am? Hope no offence was taken. Just looking for feedback.
Thanks for advice regarding changing tables - we will definitely have them, as well as have everything "stroller friendly"! What type of childrens area or toy area do you have? Any suggestions for that set up? Thanks again,
Rob

Brady said:
Not "the show" as much as the craft, the art, the expression, the soul. Basically, everything that this community is about, as I understand it.
Hi Rob,

Rob said:
Changed "the show" to "art"...see how new I am? Hope no offence was taken. Just looking for feedback. (snip)

OK, that makes more sense. While the show of a skilled barista at work can be darn entertaining to watch, the results of the art (both taste and visual) in the cup are what motivates most of the baristas I know.