Friends and coffee-lovers,

I'd like to share with you some thoughts and questions I have concerning barista training.

I'm a barista trainer in Israel, working for a large coffee distributor. I have cafes, restaurants, hotels and more spread throughout the country. In my past I've been a barista and got my training on-the-job and, after falling in love with a good espresso, through books, people, the net, dvd's, manuals and years of experience.

When there's enough time, baristas can be trained very well - being taught the story of coffee, the logic, bean-to-cup, hands on training and customer service.
The trick and the challenge arrive when there is little time and lots of trainees. I have clients who manage to hold on to their baristas for a long time and, on the other hand, I have clients whose staff change every couple of months.
I try to adapt my training abilities to the reality in front of me - sometimes I have only two hours to train 4-5 baristas who know nothing about coffee and espresso machines. Is anybody familiar with this situation?
I'm interested in knowing what you think\know about this challenge - training the best you can in minimum time.
When I have baristas coming to our training center and have them for a half-day or full day - not a problem. The challenge rises when I'm out in the field with a strict time-limit.

Trying to make a difference...
Thoughts? Feelings? Ideas?

Views: 166

Replies to This Discussion