As is probably pretty obvious from my profile, I'm a PhD student doing research into the coffee industry - particularly the concept of wastage in the industry, and the links between quality and waste. I'm at the University of Sheffield here in the UK.

What are you studying?

Views: 212

Replies to This Discussion

That is completely true, except that the coffee in the competition is not so good. I am not quite sure of the WBC champions, but for sure about the champion for China. His coffee is really not good, but so poor. The problem is how he can be the champion?

Most people knows that we announced that our coffee is quite good, confirmed by Italian coffee professionals, and our coffee theory can help people to learn to make good coffee. But, no one, including the organization of WBC, care of it. That is why I asked whether they care of good coffee or not. They pronised yes, but never see what they do about it.

You have got feeling of the coffee industry, and found some of the problems.

It is very true that people know coffee almost only from cafes. The problem is that almost all of cafes do not have good coffee, like in China, people would know from the cafes that "coffee is not good, not drink it". If there were more people can make good coffee, those small group of people will not be able to influence it.

I do not know if I explain it well or not. The English is always a problem for me.
Wow, guys, I have so much work to do on my dissertation, yet, I cannot ignore this thread!