As is probably pretty obvious from my profile, I'm a PhD student doing research into the coffee industry - particularly the concept of wastage in the industry, and the links between quality and waste. I'm at the University of Sheffield here in the UK.

What are you studying?

Views: 212

Replies to This Discussion

not studing but just started working for a plantation in sumatra ask me questions any help I can give
our plantatioon is currently trying to get all the local growers to stop clearing anything to help a better way
From news report, I learnt that the most or all coffee trees in sumatra are forbidden to harvest for coffee beans. Is that true, or any mis-understanding?

I would confirm that the mandheling was from there, but nowadays, whether it is still available or not? I really want to know it.
In my humble opinion, the coffee industry do not have good knowledge of espresso, maybe neither coffee. Concerning about the research, it might be found something about the marketing, the conmmercial respects and so on, but not coffee itself and its brewing theory.

I do hope to see from your investigation and work, to let me know something different. But, about the chemical analysis of coffee and espresso, I do not really believe that it works, at least in todays' stage.
I am working on blending processes and how to combine end product (espresso) knowledge
to growing coffee fermentations and dry processes green cherry red cherry I am working with a plantation and roasting and baristaring (ha ha spelling) so I talk and visit the growers roaster and barista myself and experment I am of the mind blending is pointless if you knw what your doing and have controll balance is there just the education process for me and them .
sned me some questions and i will put it to the crew and compile some thing for you know issue
shreing info only spelling ha ha