Hi I'm a student in London and a barista, it's been a big problem for me to find a good espresso here. Does anyone know of a good place that I could go too? I'll run out of coffee (that I brought here from my cafe back home) soon enough HELP!!!

~Haffi

Views: 230

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

i dunno about cafes, but there is an exceptionally good shop to buy coffee beans etc, called Monmouths in Covent Garden.
I've had good coffee at http://www.monmouthcoffee.co.uk/
they have location in covent garden and the borough
they do serve espresso and drip - here are some pics of our experience:

http://fincavistahermosa.wordpress.com/2006/09/14/fresh-off-the-press/
If you head to my site: www.tropicalsaloon.com, there's a bunch of places listed, photographed, reviewed.

Basically, there are a few really great places, but not many.

Listed in my personal order of preference:

- Flat White (espresso)
- Monmouth (filters, all 3 stores)
- Climpson & Sons (depending on who's working, and whether they're too busy)
- Fernandez & Wells
- Gwylim (stall at Columbia Rd Market)

I'm a barista, based in London, and can help you out further if you can tell me what area you're in.
i reckon tim has got it about right, though i would put gwilym a little higher in the list. ask for Jack at F&W.
tea and coffee plant on portobello road worth a visit if you find yourself out west.
if you around for a while i predict east london will become showcase for london coffee - especially if i can persuade jenni from gimme to come back to england.
Hi Haffi,

Very good point--not as a rule. I'm originally from Sydney and you can get excellent coffee there. Having travelled widely I think Melbourne and Sydney are the best places to get coffee in the world. The English simply cannot make coffee....which surprises me because its not that difficult to get it right!

You can however get a nice cup of tea here.