So, with regional competition coming up fast, in the U.S., I'm finding that people are getting ready for competition already. I've been practicing for a couple months now. I love my job and I love my customers even more. I'm excited to include them in the frenzy of coffee and introduce them to both the professional and competitive worlds of specialty coffee. I sometimes feel monotonous with how I explain competition. I'm always trying to keep myself from being "that barista" that explains everything the same, everytime, everyday, to every customer that asks. Now,... with that being said,...how do I keep myself from being burned out? Between eight hour bar shifts, and then six hours practicing 2-3 times a week, sometimes I don't want to step near a coffee shop (which is hard in Seattle)

yay competition.

Views: 51

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

ALEX!
You've been practicin for a few months already? I guess your regional happens sooner than down here, but you got mad game, boy!
Have you competed before? I think 18 hours of practice a week is a bit overkill, but then again, there's people that practice year round, and thats what they do. As far as getting burnt out, remember to not take it that seriously. Just think of what you're doing for a minute, and place that in the large scheme of things: Sounds a tad trite, doesn't it? Baristas getting all excited/heartbroken/angry over 15 mins of making sweet coffee love. I know last year I was extremely burnt by time comp rolled around, and it definitely effected my performance (alongside my mundane sig drink). Keep it light and easy, and just remember that this is all supposed to be fun.
Oh, and listen to some Misfits. I dunno why, but Danzig just puts me in the right mood.