I'm looking for a new tamper.  I've been using the shop's basic rattleware for the last 2 years, another shop's old Reg before that.  Time for something special, no?

Possibilities appear endless.  I have some favorites after playing with a few, but haven't used one in "real life" yet.

I'm curious about the "9th Street Espresso" tamper from EP.  The contour feels great, but I wonder if the unfinished surface gets slippery during use?

Also, what is the story with the Project Black Cat tamper?  Obviously it looks incredible.  It looks like an anodized version of the 9th street handle in some pictures, more like the distressed Compressore in others.  Regardless, it appears to be unavailable.  Anybody have the scoop on this?

Any surface finishes that people find to not work in battle?

Thanks for any help.

Views: 880

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I just got the Reg C-Ripple tamp for my birthday. It is pretty amazing.
If you liked the Reg get one with delron customized with your initial(s) or a favorite graphic. Personally I doubt I'll ever switch from a Reg. My first ones still in use at home and it's what I supply for use at my cafes ~ both standard and short classic bubinga handled with AC. Haven't tried the C-rip piston yet, need to order one sometime.
I like the 9th St Tamper, and it holds up under heavy use. It's one of those tamps that either works in your hand or it doesn't. The surface lasts pretty well without getting slippery, at least the ones I've ever used.

I think the Black Cat tamper taller than the 9th St models, and my experience is that shape feels very different with 2.5mm difference in height, so make sure you're getting the height that you like. There are real life Black Cat tampers on retail shelves in the Chicago Intellys that I've been in. My guess is that it's a 9th St base, the relevant brass mounting collar, and a custom EP handle.