I am just beginning to draw a mental picture of the general look and feel of the coffee shop I'd like to create.

I was wondering what has inspired owners/baristas of existing shops when sitting down to put what they envisioned on paper and overseeing the creation of that vision? Or if you had to do it all over again, what would you change?

Do you prefer marble to wood floors? Laminates to standard table tops? A deep green to a brown color theme?

Also, what kind(s) of assistance did you hire/recruit? Did you use an architect, a consultant, general contractors?

Views: 198

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Over the years, I've built several facilities (five, to be exact) and each one was different.

It may sound hokey, but I like to let the space talk to me about what it wants to be. Unless you're talking about an eggshell, cookie-cutter, suburban strip shopping center kind of place, then chances are that the space you end up with may be quite a bit different than the one you're envisioning now.

For the place we're opening next month, I also let the space talk to me. I literally would sit there for hours in the space imagining what might be possible. One feature of the building was that it had a feeling that strongly reminded me of the mom and pop shops I saw in Paris - and the idea of a Parisian-style cafe came to mind. I liked that feeling and wanted to capitalize on it while still maintaining the vision I was developing for the space.

A strong influence in the design of the new place came from The French Laundry. I wanted a space without the usual coffeehouse trappings that detract and take away from the coffee. I wanted the focus of our customers to be on the coffee. Thus, neutral colors became a major player. In order to evoke a classic feel, I specified traditional style cabinetwork on the original 1920s pine floors.