I'll admit it. I'm new to the whole home roasting thing, having just being gifted an I-Roast 2 for Christmas, but I am already a roasting fanatic. I just love watching the beans change color. And the aromas, ahhhh! This page is for trading tips and horror stories about home roasting.

Views: 75

Replies to This Discussion

I think it is a really fun hobby. I have 2 Fresh Roast plus 8 and I roast every weekend. I also have a website to sell green beans. I started roasting about a year and a half ago. I love the coffee selections and the freshnest of the coffee. I have to roast out side because my wife hates the smoke. It is too windy hear to roast out side today.
I also have problems with smoke. I seem to set off the fire alarm almost every time, even if the windows are open. I'm hoping to find a Monsooned Malabar for my next green coffee purchase.
I am new to home coffee roasting as well with only five or six months under my belt. I roast on a Gene Cafe and having a ball. I've done just over a 100 roasts with it so far with no problems or horror stories. My coffee cellar consists of about 13 or 14 different coffees.

I've been roasting in the kitchen, under the vented hood above the stove, and haven't had much in the way of complaints from my wife. I'm setting up a special spot in the garage, so when summer comes around I'll be roasting out there.

If you're looking for a monsooned Malabar you'll find it at Sweet Maria's (a bit pricey @ $5.40 lb) or Burman Coffee Traders @ $4.50.

Do you guys keep roasting log sheets? I've attached one of mine from an 8 oz batch of Costa Rica Dota Select if you're interested (this is the first file I've tried to upload so not sure if it will work). After stopping the roast (without going through the machine's cooling cycle), I dump the beans into my homemade cooler (you can see photos on my BE page - there's also a couple of videos of my Gene Cafe in action).

Great sharing with you. Look forward to more visitors.
Attachments: